Beginning from scratch

Beginning from scratch

In 2020 I saw this post from a friend of mine on Twitter where he was willing to teach those who were interested in learning web development for free๐Ÿ˜. Honestly I skipped that post a couple of times but it kept appearing on my timeline. Now before this I wanted to switch careers to tech but didnt know where to start from coming from a finance background you can imagine how blank I was lol. Fast forward to a week or two later I began my web development journey. It was purely online and we started with 1hr everyday. My friend who later became my teacher ๐Ÿ˜ did his best to demystify all the thoughts I had about coding and all so we basically began from the basics. We went from html which took my like a month or 2 and later on i progressed to css. A couple of my mates dropped along the line due to work constraints and all that but my mind was made and I wanted this I took 3 to 4 months learning css and mind you my teacher loves designs and would not settle for less. He provided material for me to study and that's how we moved from 1 hour a day to 3 and 4 hours subsequently. At this point I knew I had "made it" ๐Ÿ˜…. My teach et made sure we built from scratch no frameworks at all so I thought I was a genius at this stage not knowing what was ahead. Then came the "almighty" jacascript๐Ÿ˜… don't worry as we progress I'll let you know why I used that description. Honestly speaking it was hard but I tried to push forward though that lasted only for a few weeks or so. In march 2021 I got interested In AWS as well and told myself I could handle both (which was a big lie at the time) . I started studying for my first certification which was the Solutions architect(SAA) exams (what a wawuuuu situation) I actually skipped the cloyd practitioner and went straight for the SAA and in april I wrote and failed ๐Ÿ˜ญ oh that hurt but i decided to study more and retake the exams lo and behold I failed again. I decided to start from the base. I joined the AWS Douala user group and met amazing people who had ample knowledge of the cloud as well as resources that could help a beginner like me. I studied and took the Cloud practitioner rxama and made it yaaay๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿฟ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿฟ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿฟ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿฟ. One will think my next step was to immediately start preparing to take my SAA for a 3rd time but I let fear take hold of me. June I got a job which was good but it became practically impossible for me to manage both and that's how I dropped all slowly. Fast forward to Decemeber 2021 I made up my mind to play the long game and in January 2022 my contract was over and I decided to pick up from where I left off. It has indeed been a journey for me but there are so many lessons I learnt which is wrapped in this phrase " PLAY THE LONG GAME". If I did last year I'm very sure i would have been somewhere better but I'm still grateful because I've learnt so many lessons along the line. Hoping to take my SAA by next month๐Ÿ˜ wish my luck this time

Thanks for reading my Ted blog ๐Ÿ˜…

Stay tuned as I'd be sharing with you my progress.

ย