The Outreachy internship application experience.

The Outreachy internship application experience.

Hey there ..... It's me again ๐Ÿ˜ and like I said in the article I just published about giving the latest updates this here is one. Did I tell you about the Outreachy internship? Remember I did a write up about mental health and the open source community - does that ring a bell? Lol yes yes yes. So all that was in line with my application for Outreachy. So what is outreachy ? It is a remote 3 month paid internship which involves contributing to opensource projects and Interns are paid upto $7000. Oh how I hoped to get in for the May to August session.....๐Ÿ˜ฉ. I passed the application stage and was selected for the last phase of the application but unfortunately I wasn't selected(maybe cuz I went in for the wrong reasons ๐Ÿ˜‚). In as much as I wanted to talk about mental wellbeing which is one topic I'm very passionate about but I was also interested in the money they were going to pay in the end - ohh that would have helped me alot especially paying for my CSM or PSM (classes and cert) so I actually did my best and I'm proud of myself actually. Got to learn more about contributing to open source projects , did a couple of pull requests and felt like a pro ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. They launched the session for December but ahhhh I'm not going in again now I know better, not all opportunities are meant for me to just dive into especially if I do not have the right reasons.

Lesson learnt: Make sure you are convinced and sincere with yourself before engaging on some activities.

ย